Posted in Poems

On Sundays

If you want to know me on a Sunday
don’t ask me how I am
or how I’ve been
for such shallow words are these
they’re better left unspoken.

If you want to know me on a Sunday
Just sit. Don’t try to strike up idle conversation
About the weather or last night’s news
Or how cold the winter’s been.
Don’t be offended when I don’t
acknowledge you just yet.

Finish your cup of tea, and sit quietly
You might watch me as I read
A collection of contemporary poetry
And notice how I smile
When a line strikes me as particularly witty

From time to time, I will glance
Seemingly unseeing
At the world map on the wall behind you
And when you’ve reached the bottom of your mug

I will get up, half smiling
And put the kettle on
And with steaming mugs of tea
We will sit across from each other
And you will know me.

Leave a Reply

