Posted in Updates and Musings

New Things Are Happening…

Here I am, one year after I made a bucket list and started this blog.  I have not posted on it as much as I thought I would, however in the past year I have accomplished a lot. Not necessarily things that were on my bucket list, but I never could have expected to go where this year has taken me.

A year ago I was in the middle of rehearsals for Alice in Wonderland as Alice, with a wonderful community theater group. After that ended was one of the longest, coldest winters, but I got by discovering an intense love for poetry, both reading and writing it.  I joined a poetry group, and met many very talented poets, and starting getting over my fear of sharing my writing. In this group I met the editor of my valley’s newspaper. He offered me an internship at the newspaper for the summer.  In the spring I applied for an unschooling writing retreat that I’ve wanted to go to for a few years, and got in. I also made the choice not to go back to Not Back to School Camp (at least for this year), which was a little bit heartbreaking, but felt like the right decision.  I watched a sweet little toddler learn to sing songs and ride his bike. I spent hours listening to my brothers telling silly stories and giving them hugs. I went ziplining with my dad and brother. I went to women’s gatherings with my mom for the first time in years. I remembered that I need to have a group of women in my life. I learned that I need to dance. I had my first ever voice recital, and messed up every song. I’ve started identifying as a feminist, and learning about the privileges I have, and how to live with that. I voted for the first time. I tried meat for the first time in 11 years (and hated it, but I’ll get there). I started drawing accidentally and realized that I love it (sometimes). I started playing ukulele, and started writing my own songs again. I got stressed out to the point of crying every day…and then I started learning to let things go.

In the last week I have gone from my tiny town in Vermont to New York, to Missouri, to Colorado. Here I am waiting to start the writing retreat in a youth hostel completely deserted, except for my friend and I.

There’s one last thing I have been working on this year…it’s a poetry blog. It’s been a secret for a while because I wanted it to be my own so that I could make it whatever I want. It’s still a work in progress, but I think I’m ready to share it. You can  see it here: http://sabinapoetry.wordpress.com

And something else I made is here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1i8m2o-HxC6I4X9_c7-Qsg
I made this channel today, so it’s very much in the beginning stages. But I’m very excited to share it. Let me know what you think, and if you like it please share my blog, youtube channel, and/or poems. It would mean the world to me.

xoxo.

2 thoughts on “New Things Are Happening…

Leave a Reply

